Posted in Reviews.

Review: Lula Dean’s Little Library Of Banned Books by Kirsten Miller.

The provocative and hilarious summer read that will have book lovers cheering and everyone talking! Kirsten Miller, author of The Change, brings us a bracing, wildly entertaining satire about a small Southern town, a pitched battle over banned books, and a little lending library that changes everything.

This year I’ve been pretty lucky with the amount of books I’ve been getting in advance, and this book is no exception and probably one of my favourite books of the year if I am quite honest.

Set in Georgia, Lula Dean’s Little Library of Banned Books takes us on a ride with one of the most on the pulse ‘culture war’ topics that is currently going strong right now, the banning of book and uses it to expose the hypocrisy and the prejudices of the community this book is set in. Brilliantly witty and fantastically paced this book is exceptional.

The characters of Lula and Beverley really are so different and so brilliantly written, that it is almost cinematic as these scenes jump off the page (I would love to see this as a show, I think the drama would be brilliant) particularly between these two, however as this book focuses on a small town the array of characters allows for more perspective which I found so interesting and so enjoyable – to see the growth of these characters via the power of books is such a pleasure to read.

One of those books I’m probably gonna make everyone around me read, this book was one of my most anticipated reading the blurb, and I need to own it physically for my own library collection – and I want everyone to find it!

(thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the ARC).

Author:

Just a rants about a bunch of things, including music, politics and morality. (hopefully).

Leave a comment